From Diablo 4 Wiki

Diablo 4 Skill Trees Overview

When Diablo 4 was announced, Blizzard’s first reveal of skill trees took a traditional skill tree format that players could instantly recognise. On 29 December 2020, Blizzard revealed a major change to the way in which skills and passives would be presented to the player. Blizzard showed a revamped Sorceress skill and passives tree. Below is the Diablo 4 Skill Trees overview.

Understanding the Diablo 4 Skill Trees

  • The square skills are where players add skill points.
  • The round nodes can be activated to augment the skills players have unlocked
  • Along the branches are also smaller passive nodes that can be activated.
  • At the bottom of the tree in the root system, there are nodes that can be activated to provide “powerful effects”.
  • Passives are not tied to a particular skill.
  • Blizzard has stated that players will not be able to acquire every Skill Tree node. By end-game, only 30-40% will be filled.
Diablo 4 Skill Tree
Click to Enlarge

Skill Talent Tree Archive

Updated 29 September 2020

Prior to 29 September 2020, the Diablo 4 skill trees took a more traditional form as seen in the images below. The skill tree above is more visually impressive but also keeps everything on a single screen. The previous incarnation of the tree contained tabs for both skills and talents.

Skill Respec

Players will be able to respec their skills but it will come at a cost. The higher the level you are, the more expensive it will become to respec.

According to Blizzard, "in the end-game, hanging your build will require a significant investment, to appropriately match the time and effort you’ve put into defining your character."